Rationalization

I was driving on Broadway and came to a red light next to a bank. The words “Deposit a check with your phone!” flashed across its sign and it made me think about just how far technology has come in my lifetime. I remember both of my children looking at me like I had grown another head when I told them that phones and computers didn’t used to be something we carried in our pockets and that to talk on the phone, you were tethered to a wall. 

I glanced across the street and in the dimly lit shop I saw its old pressed tin ceiling. On a geological time scale, humans have been around for a hair’s breadth. I saw all at once all of time that has ever been, all that was, and all that will ever be, smashed all together in an infinite loop. I realized that nothing at all matters because every small thing matters in a such a profound way. 

Then I decided that yes, I think I WILL have those Arby’s curly fries. Har.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

